Belated 2013 Reflections, Inspirations & Goals

A few weeks ago I joined in the Top 5 of 2013 blog series started by Gillian at Crafting a Rainbow.  I posted my top 5 hits and top 5 misses of 2013, but I’ve been procrastinating on doing the rest of the lists because I couldn’t think of five things for all of them.  I’ve decided to stop being a perfectionist and just post what I have.

Reflections:

1.  I work slowly.  I know this about myself, and most people who know me know this too:)  I want to someday support myself by making and selling clothes, but I need to think about how long I spend working on a garment when it comes to pricing it.  Because of this I’ve been trying to simplify and streamline my patterns and my work process on things I intend to sell.

I’m also focusing on developing a collection of go-to patterns.  Pieces that are simple but flattering and can be remade in a variety of fabrics.

Inspirations:

1.  Alabama Chanin

Alabama Chanin black embroidered coat

I love Alabama Chanin.  If I’m in a slump, I’ll take a look at their website and I’m always inspired to get my hands on some fabric and get back to work.

2.  Isobel Toledo

Isabel Toledo dresses

The best.  I interned for her when I was in college.  She runs a tight ship.

3.  Grainline Studio

The Grainline Studio blog is a constant source of information and inspiration for me.  I have been sewing for over 15 years, but there are still things that I shy away from when sewing (set-in sleeves and zippers to name two).  Jen’s tutorials are so helpful and easy to follow, they really make me feel like I could tackle any sewing issue I have not mastered yet.

Goals:

Ok, I feel like I’m rambling on, so I’ll keep this short.

1.  Make my Etsy shop more cohesive.  So far a lot of what I’ve made has been the result of me experimenting with new dyes, patterns or fabrics, so the pieces are a little all over the place.

2.  Try selling at a handmade market.  I’m a little scared of doing this, but I think that is why I need to do it.  I refuse to be intimidated!

3.  Sew more clothes for myself.  My wardrobe is kind of pitiful at this point.  I feel silly buying clothes when I could make them, but I also put a lot of pressure on myself to make things to sell, not for me.  So I end up wearing the same three shirts and two pairs of jeans all the time.  My goal is to make more clothes for myself because I need them and because it’s fun!

Ok, that’s it.  Done and done!

Leave a Reply

