Handmade Wordrobe progress report

Wow!  I feel like I’ve been gone for a long time!  I have made some progress in the “making my own clothes” department and I wanted to share some pictures.  I thought at first that I should start with cold weather clothes because it was winter, but I decided it made more sense to work a season ahead so that I would have a collection of garments ready to go when the weather gets warm.  One possible down side to this is that it might be difficult to motivate myself to work on a wool coat when August rolls around…

I’ve been on a real shibori dress kick:

baby doll dress

Bell Sleeve dress

dolman sleeve tunic with pockets

v neck dress

Patchwork dress

I put my scraps to good use:)

Well, that’s it for now.  If anyone else is working towards a handmade wardrobe I would love to hear about it!  The challenge continues…

P.S.  I just wanted to add–I put my own tags into everything I make, even if it’s just for me.  I have a stamp with my name and logo on it and I use fabric paint to stamp it on a piece of fabric, then sew it into the neckline.  It makes my garments feel more professional and complete and let’s the world know who made them:)

Leave a Reply

