Oversized Linen Dress

blue linen dress

I’ve been on quite a linen kick lately.  I love the rumpled texture and it’s so comfy in this hot weather.  I’ve also been chasing after the perfect relaxed but stylish dress design and after many revisions I think I’ve got it!

blue linen dress

It seems like a pretty simple dress, but it took a while to get the proportions just right.  The waistline and hem needed to be hitting me at just the right spot, or it was not very flattering.

blue linen dress

I know this silhouette is not for everyone, but I love it!  Maybe it’s because it brings back fond memories of all the grungy baby-doll dresses I wore in high school, while reading Sassy magazine and listening to the Cranberries…ah the 90’s…

linen babydoll dress

The neckline took some tinkering, I wanted it to be nice and open, but not show my bra straps.  And I wanted the skirt to be long, but not drag on the city sidewalks or subway floor–yuck!

linen dress

I’ve made many versions of this type of dress and this one is my favorite.  I’m definitely going to make up a few more in different fabrics and maybe a long sleeved version for the cold weather.  The possibilities are endless!

2 thoughts on “Oversized Linen Dress

  1. Pingback: Linen Crossback Apron | my workroom

  2. Pingback: Shibori Linen Babydoll Top | workroom

Leave a Reply

